Hooking folk art animals-not realistic, but fun!!/Sunnie rug hooking/folk art

Over the years, I have hooked many “animal” pieces but none of them have been really “realistic”!   🙂

Because I like to create them myself, I don’t have to follow any guide of correct eye colour, etc.   all of you who do primitives or folk art style pieces know what I mean!!!!

Some of my early ones are more primitive and I used a #8 cut more often.   Later ones are done in narrower cuts, like the #4,5 and 6 cuts that I use most now!!

Some were copied from old rug designs and some were my own drawings.   While I was learning, I enjoyed hooking them all…!

Maybe, when I grow up (!!!) I’ll do more realistic hooking…but since I am 75 now, I don’t have a lot of confidence in that…!   …lol…

I showed you the “Homeplace” rug earlier with a lot of the owner’s animals in it…!

Here are some fun animal pieces:

Do you like hooking animals…either realistic, primitive or folk art style?    I always enjoy your comments…

Thank you to Mary for contacting me!   Mary does primitives!  

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

About Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!
This entry was posted in 2017 Hooking, Pieces from the Past, Rug Hooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

