Hooking Vegetables in a Whimsical Way…! Sunnie/rug hooking!

This is why I love to experiment…!   🙂

This rug design was actually started by cutting out random paper shapes !   Then seeing what ideas started zipping around in my mind as I laid them out on backing and moved them around.   I think it was the legs and “leaf” shapes that started me thinking about creating vegetable “people”…and it just went silly from there!!!

So this one is “Dancing at the Vegeta Ball”…and I had such fun hooking it….!

If you are searching for your own “style”, try a lot of things. ..and you’ll eventually find what pleases you most.

 Sometimes you just know what you’d like to do.   You love doing hand-drawn portraits and want to know how to hook them realistically.   Or, you want to do beautiful landscapes with proper horizon lines and shadows.   Or, maybe, you want to hook fun cartoon-ish animals!!!!   If you know that you want to follow a particular path, you will learn all you can about the appropriate techniques and take classes with teachers whose work you admire.

I’ve always wanted to do art and craft that was “different”.   Although I did some very “usual” work during my learning period, my favourite designs are those that no one else has done.   I prefer that my designs bring together things that others might not think of combining…or might not even like!!!!   …lol…   And I like starting out a rug and not knowing what the finished design will actually be.   The journey is the fun part for me…and creating the changes along the way!!! 

I love it when people laugh when they see my work, even if they would not do something so silly themselves!   🙂   And I always appreciated my husband’s comment, “I can’t understand How you think up these things!!!!”   …lol…  

He enjoyed my work and that gave me a lot of pleasure.   But he was a traditional craftsman and his work was beautiful but he would not have been happy if people had thought his drawings, wood carvings or writings “silly”…!

I figure that if I like what I’ve done and one other person gets pleasure out of it…I’m happy!!!!!   

Here is a self-portrait that looks just like me when I was a few years  younger!!!   (Maybe only 70!!!)   Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

About Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!
This entry was posted in Pieces from the Past, Rug Hooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment